Tri Star Gymnastics

I hope you didn’t think that I’d be traveling and giving up gymnastics. That’s just absurd. I may have researched adult gymnastics in New Zealand before I even bought my plane ticket. 

Auckland has the largest selection of clubs and many offer adult gymnastics on a drop in basis (called a casual rate). There are two gyms within a reasonable distance from where I am staying that offer adult open gym. 

It took about 40 minutes to get there but it was worth it. The gym itself was large and had a good amount of equipment. There were 2 vaults, one into a pit, 3 sets of uneven bars, 4 high beams, a full size floor, trampoline and a double length tumble trak. A lot of the equipment was very old but there was at least one piece of each apparatus that was gymnova  and seemingly new (gymnova is a European brand of equipment. Its not common at all in the USA. The only time I’ve been non gymnova equipment was in Argentina). Everything else was Acromat (which is an Australian brand). No AAI (American brand) in sight. They also had full men’s equipment. 

There were about 20 people there. Everyone except 2 of us were male martial artists. There was me and 1 other girl who were real gymnasts and she was rhythmic which doesn’t really count. 

It was a 2 hour practice and it was awesome. Between moving and traveling I had not had a proper gymnastics practice in about 3 weeks. Every time I take time off of gym (eve just a week or two) I forget how much I love it and how.much happier it makes me. I did 3 events and used up almost all of the 2 hours. For my gymnastics friends reading I’ll give a quick rundown of my workout. 

Vault- handsprings and tsuk timers. I did vault last so they weren’t great but I’m pretty sure I have vaulted 4 times since April. 

Beam- went through everything in my routine (including back tuck, excluding back handspring) 5x. 

Floor- basics then tumbling. The floor was strange. It didn’t feel bouncy when I tested it but I tumbled really high. Same thing with the beam; felt dead but jumps and tucks were easy. I did up to back fulls and front fulls. 

Even though it took me close to 45 minutes to get there (and another 45 minutes to get back, plus $9 in bus fare) it was worth it, not just for my physical health but my emotional health as well. I am a much happier person when I can do gymnastics. 

Tomorrow I am leaving for a smaller town up north called Whangarei. Don’t worry though, I emailed their gym and am working out with their junior team on Thursday. 

Leave a Reply

