Staying Put

Why Hello There! It’s been a while. A long while. I haven’t recapped Rotorua yet, or anything I’ve done in the last 6 weeks. That’s because for the last 5 weeks I’ve been hanging out on an island, which makes for a bit of a boring life (to read about, to live not so much, I highly enjoy it).

After Rotorua, I came back to Auckland to hangout in my friend’s flat for 3 days, then caught the ferry to Waiheke. I was in Waiheke previously, back in mid to late September. When I was here though, the weather was awful and I didn’t get to see much of the island. Also, I believe I said it was my favorite hostel I’ve ever stayed in anywhere in the world. So off to Kina (the hostel) and Waiheke I went. My original booking was for Tuesday through Saturday. Then I extended it to Monday, then extended it to the following Sunday, then extended it for a month. I arrived here on October 15th and I’ll be staying until December 10th.

Once I decided that I wanted to stay, I needed to find a job, or at least something to do. I sent my resume to the local gymnastics club and they asked me to coach 2x/ week. Perfect. Then about 2 weeks later, I took over cleaning the bathrooms in the hostel. It’s not glamorous but it’s a pretty sweet gig. I clean the showers, 4 of them, the bathrooms, men’s and women’s, 2 stalls each, and a handicap restroom and in return I get to stay in the hostel for free. I clean everyday from 10:30am- noon, though I’m usually finished by 11:45-11:50am. Saves me $155 NZD per week.

Besides that, I’ve been reading a lot. In the last 5 weeks I’ve read 12 books. I’m also baking cookies every 3-4 days. I’ve become famous for my cookies, which I give to everyone in the hostel for free. I’ve made oatmeal chocolate chip, lemon cookies, which I loved so I repeated them with lime and orange, and recently I’ve been making ginger cookies. They remind me of Christmas.

Twice a week I do crossfit. Wednesday nights I take class with the owner of the hostel. Then on Sundays I head to Auckland for gymnastics practice, stay the night there, then take the 6:15am crossfit class on Monday morning. After class I book it to the ferry terminal to catch the 8:15 ferry back to Waiheke. That gets me back to the hostel at 9:30, which is just enough time to eat breakfast and then be ready to clean the bathrooms at 10:30.

Additionally, I do a stair workout at least once a week. There are 187 steps leading from the beach up to the hostel. I run up (or jump, or sprint or lunge) and then walk down 5-7 times. It’s a killer.

I also do a pyramid or kettlebell workout once a week as well. Last week I did a workout with a guy in the hostel and I destroyed him. That felt pretty good.
So that’s what I’ve been doing. Coaching, cleaning, reading and baking, or hanging out on the beach/ on bean bags. Soon I’ll update again with more details about my daily life, the hostel, living on an island, living 3 minutes from the beach but 40 minutes from the grocery store, etc.

Leave a Reply

