Wellington- Week 2

This week has been much more relaxed than the last. I’ve spent more time reading and relaxing, which is good as I’ve noticed that I’ve been tired all the time. Lest you think this is from laziness, it is not. I’ve been working out like mad, plus walking close to 5 miles a day. By working out I mean lifting, like barbell lifting, plus gymnastics practices. I’ve also taken a few classes at the gym I have a free week to. Anyway- Highlights!

Parliament- There are tours of parliament everyday on the hour. It was a stellar tour, very informative and you got to see The Beehive (executive branch), the parliament building and the parliamentry library (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Zealand_Parliament_Buildings). A good portion of the tour focused on the refurbishment of all three buildings between 1992-1995. Wellington is on a fault line so all the large public buildings have to be able to withstand an earthquake of 7.3-7.5. A Kiwi engineer invented the lead rubber bearing base isolation system which is used in both parliament and Te Papa (the national museum, also in Wellington).

Te Papa- The national museum. It’s huge and overwhelming and it was buzzing with people. My favorite part was called WOW- world of wearable art. Designers make clothing from all sorts of materials (wood, zippers, wool, etc) in all sorts of crazy designs. This exhibition was simply pieces from the fashion show/ competition that happens every September in Wellington (http://worldofwearableart.com). After the museum I went back to the cafe that gave me a free drink card and enjoyed a delicious cappuccino and read some Jane Eyre.

State of the Union- I was texting with a friend in the US and he mentioned that he was about to watch the State of the Union. Most cable providers in NZ carry at least 1 American news channel or at least BBC so I figured I might be able to find it. Success! Al Jazeera was broadcasting it.

Zumba!- I’ve never done Zumba before but since I get to take all the classes at the gym for free I decided to try it out. For those that don’t know, I love to dance. Love it. Out at a club dancing, choreographed dance, ballet- anything is cool. Zumba was great! I would 100% do it again.

Ears- About 8 years ago I got a second hole pierced in my ears, nothing crazy of course, the second hole was right next to my first ear piercing. Those closed up a while ago. A long while ago. Since then, I’ve wanted to get them re-pierced but I just never got around to it. Until yesterday. I found a lovely place downtown. The 2 owners were fantastic (one was from Indiana!). 10 minutes later I once again has a second hole. It was pricey and will make eating for the rest of this week a little difficult but I’m glad I did it. Plus the new earrings they used are glass, which is kind of cool. At least I’m guaranteed no allergic reacion from it.

Lifting- This morning I went to the gym to do some lifting. Up in the free weight are were 2 sports teams. They were for sure older than high school, I was thinking maybe college, but some players looked older than that. Plus, this is NZ, they don’t have college sports like they do in the US. Then it all came together- next weekend is a huge rugby tournament here in Wellington. These were rugby teams. National teams. I’m not sure which nations these two were but 1 was English speaking (a player asked if I was done with a bar in perfect English- actually now that I think of it, they might have been German, on my last set of squats their coach was walking by and looked like he was going to step in and spot me and asked if I needed help- he had an accent and his shirt had a German flag on it). Soon after, both teams left.

Then, about 5 minutes later, the Portuguese team came in and started working out (it said Portugal on their shirts, I googled them when I got back and recognized people in the team photo from the gym). So for the next 75 minutes I was lifting right next to them. They were all using the squat rack kind of unsafely which I was not impressed with (unracking the bar then stepping foward for squats, which in itself isn’t terrible, it’s re-racking the bar behind you that is terribly unsafe because you can’t see the pins). Anyway, kind of cool.

So that’s pretty much a wrap for Wellington. It’s Friday afternoon here and I’m flying to Dunedin on Sunday morning. I’ll be there at least a week as my gymnastics meet is next Saturday the 8th. I may even stay longer. We’ll see!

2 thoughts on “Wellington- Week 2

  1. Dunedin!! Please go to Friendly Khmer Satay Noodle House (rice dish with peanut sauce and pineapple and the enormous chicken soup), Shahi Tandoor (Malai Kofta and Onion Bhaji), and Cafe Nesli Turkish Kebab (chicken doner kebab, if you eat meat) for me, it’s been almost 10 years and those are still four of my favorite meals of all time. Just looked them up and they’re all still there, I’m impressed. (This is Caitlin, we met at the APW meetup right before you left for eNZed the first time). Have an amazing time! The Cadbury factory tour is pretty fun as well.

  2. “tired all the time”? Well, good to know things are proceeding as usual. ZING!

    Anyway, glad to know everything is going well for you.

Leave a Reply

